Spingarn Medal Winners

People with Spingarn Medal


Name Title
A. Philip Randolph American activist
Alex Haley African American biographer screenwriter and novelist
Alvin Ailey Dancer choreographer
Andrew Young American diplomat
Anthony Overton American businessman
Ben Carson American neurosurgeon
Benjamin Hooks American civil rights leader
Benjamin Mays American educator activist minister
Bill Cosby American actor comedian author producer musician activist
Carl J. Murphy American journalist
Carl Rowan American journalist
Carter G. Woodson American historian
Charles Hamilton Houston
Charles R. Drew American physician
Charles Richard Drew
Charles Sidney Gilpin American actor
Cicely Tyson Actress
Clarence M. Mitchell, Jr. American civil rights activist
Coleman Young American politician
Colin Powell (footballer) British footballer
Constance Baker Motley American politician and judge
Daisy Bates Actress
Damon Keith American judge
Dorothy Height Civil Rights Leader
Douglas Wilder American politician
Duke Ellington American bandleader composer pianist
Earl G. Graves Sr. American businessman
Edward Brooke (fencer) Fencer
Elizabeth Eckford Part of the Little Rock Nine
Ernest Everett Just American marine biologist
Frankie Muse Freeman
Frederick D. Patterson
George Washington Carver botanist
Gloria Ray Karlmark Member of the Little Rock Nine
Gordon Parks American photographer
Hank Aaron Retired American baseball player
Harry Belafonte American musician
Harry T. Moore
Harry Tyson Moore Civil Rights Leader
Jackie Robinson American baseball player
Jacob Lawrence Artist
James Weldon Johnson writer and activist
Jefferson Thomas Civil rights activist
Jessye Norman American opera soprano
John Conyers (MP born 1650) English politician
John H. Johnson American businessman
John Hope Franklin American historian
John Lewis Actor
Julian Bond American politician
Langston Hughes Poet playwright novelist

Spingarn Medal (0 years)

  • Inception: